First Day Blues

I’m really bad at following my ideal post day of Monday, but I guess that’s what happens now that I’m back in school!!!

I definitely have to say that college is much different than what I expected. The students are a lot more approachable than they were in high school. That doesn’t mean I go up to everyone and strike up conversation, though. The classes here are pretty small and the professors actually seem like they are interested in learning more about you. I’m pretty sure my most engaging conversations in the past week have been with my professors, which is a good thing in my book.

Since we last met, my computer decided to kinda die on me so my iPad has become my best friend. It’s a blessing and a curse. It’s light enough to carry around in my backpack but since it’s not a full computer, I’m pretty limited in what I can do. I’ll just stick to the old standard of pen and paper for now.

The work loads aren’t too bad. I’ve done a lot of reading and answering short response questions, my favorite. My classes have been pretty engaging, especially when the professors are passionate about what they teach and make it interesting. I feel that this semester will be very interesting.

In other news, I’ve been doing a lot more exploring of campus. Plant Park, which sits on the Hillsborough River, has to be my favorite place on campus. Since I’ve discovered it, I’ve been there at some point everyday to think, converse, and even people watch. I guess you’ll know where to find me in my free time, besides watching Netflix in my room.

Our RA is probably one of the best parts about living on my floor, besides the amazing views of downtown. He’s the go-to guy for all things fun. Earlier today, my ID wasn’t letting my use the elevator and he knew what to do. Thank goodness I have him, or else I would’ve been completely lost. As a floor, we’ve painted bricks to use as doorstops, played volleyball against others, and even watch the comedienne, Heather McDonald.

I have a lot of studying to get to. First quiz on Thursday and I’ve gotta know my stuff!

Leave a comment